top of page
  • Writer's pictureHigh On Flavors

Tawa Fried Crispy Aaloo/Potatoes!


#Potato is one vegetable an Indian household can never run out of. #Potatoes are used in quite a lot of Indian curries/sabzi. We have aaloo gobhi, aaloo baingan, gaajar aaloo, aaloo methi and the list goes on & on. Few of the most popular Indian street foods like aaloo tikki, aaloo chaat also are made of potatoes. Potato can be used in numerous ways; you can make stuffing, curry/sabzi, fries, wedges, chips, chaat etc.. So, who doesn't love potatoes?

These days when all of us are using grocery mindfully, a recipe that needs #minimal #ingredients is a need of the hour. These crispy potatoes serve the purpose beautifully. They have always been a hit whenever I've made them for guests. I've served these as appetizer to go with drinks, chaat (topped with dahi/yogurt & chutneys), side with dinner or just as they are to enjoy with evening tea, and they received the deserved love by everyone every single time. These tawa fried potatoes are done quickly in just 15 minutes, so for me, they are a blessing on a busy day when I want to enjoy some fresh chatpataa (spicy) snack or if I am hosting a party. Another great thing about this recipe is you can make these beforehand and just reheat before serving. You can enjoy these in your fast as well, just by replacing table salt with rock salt (sendha namak). This recipe is inspired by one of my sweet neighbors whom I met when I first moved to the US after getting married. I call her Chadha Aunty, but she's really more than just a neighbor. She was the first person I met after I landed in the US. I admire her a lot. She's a great cook, and a great personality. I've been lucky enough to enjoy her cooking couple of times and now I miss her & her crispy aaloo (as she calls them) after we moved away for work. So, I have no other option but to make them myself. Whenever I make this recipe, I never miss calling her up to tell that I've cooked her recipe . At street-side chaat stalls these are usually deep fried, but these home made crispy potatoes are shallow fried golden in just 3 tbsp of oil. So, guys get ready for an amazing spicy recipe that you can make at home in just no time. I am sure it'll be the talk of your get together.


This recipe will serve around 2-3 people. Do try it. I'm certain that you'll love it!


List of Ingredients:


For Crispy Potatoes


  1. Potatoes - 7-8 medium sized

  2. Oil - 3 tbsp

  3. Salt - 1 tsp (or as per taste)

  4. Green chili (chopped lengthwise) - 2-3 (you can adjust per your taste)

  5. Red chili powder - 1/2 tsp

  6. Coriander powder - 1 tsp

  7. Amchur/Dry Mango powder - 1 tsp


Easy to follow steps:


First, we'll partially boil the potatoes. Wash potatoes and put them in a pressure cooker with water level just one inch above the potatoes. Boil them for only one whistle, turn off the flame & let the cooker depressurize on its own. Peel'em and chop in big cubes.

Now, just shallow-fry them. Place a tawa/griddle on medium heat. Try to use non stick one, if you don't have that, regular tawa is also fine, just make sure it's greased well before putting potato cubes. Pour oil, spread it onto to the tawa and place potatoes along with green chili carefully so they don't overlap each other. Fry them on moderate heat by turning intermittently from all the sides until they have golden crust all over. Once done, take them out in a bowl. Mix all the dry masala and sprinkle over the potatoes while they are hot & mix well.


Serve with tea, drinks, make chaat, or whatever you like. I enjoyed them with beetroot raita.


Note: If you're gonna eat/serve them later, then leave them on tawa, just reheat, toss them, add masala and serve.

This is the quickest of all recipes I've written so far.
See!! Our crispy potatoes are ready!!

Happily Stay Home!

Hope you liked the recipe and didn't find it too difficult. Let me know if this got you high on flavors. Don't forget to subscribe for more updates. Leave a comment for any questions/thoughts. Talk to you in my next mouthwatering recipe!


You can also follow me on Facebook and Instagram ........ to never miss a beat, and don't forget to share it with your loved ones.


148 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

2 commentaires


High On Flavors
High On Flavors
29 avr. 2020

Thankyou for appreciation and motivating me to keep bringing recipes for you!!

J'aime

sumitbhardwaj21071984
29 avr. 2020

Hey dat looks soooo yum😋....will surely try....thanks for sharing such wonderful recipes ❣️...I always try ur recipes at home n it always comes out as PERFECT!!!!!! Thank you so much...keep sharing,😘

J'aime
bottom of page