top of page
  • Writer's pictureHigh On Flavors

Gaajar ka Halwa.


Gaajar Ka Halwa!
#Gaajar ka Halwa is like a tradition in every #Indian home during #winters and why shouldn't it be? After all, the bright red gaajar/carrots that we get in #India make a lip smacking #dessert to be enjoyed while wrapped in a cozy blanket when it's freezing outside. And I must tell you that Indian weddings are incomplete without Gaajar ka Halwa. Serve it as you like it (Hot, Cold, Warm).

I always try to make Gaajar ka Halwa at least once in winters even though there are no "Red Carrots" in the US. This time I was waiting for some snow (I don't know why , but I was) and then finally there was snow, I had time, I had carrots which lead me to the kitchen to make one of my favorite desserts. On top of that it was my parents-in-law's 40th wedding anniversary. What could be a better way to celebrate? So, here I bring you the recipe for Gaajar ka Halwaa. You just need basic ingredients and a little bit of patience.


This short, sweet and easy recipe will serve 6-7 people. Do try it out and leave a comment!


List of Ingredients:


  1. Carrots/Gaajar - 8-10 medium sized.

  2. Milk - 5 cups.

  3. Sugar - 3/4 cup ( you can adjust it as per you preference).

  4. Cardamom - 4 -5 (powdered without skin).

  5. Almonds - 1/4 cup (chopped or crushed). You are free to use other dry fruits (Cashews, Raisins, Pistachios etc.)

  6. Ghee/Clarified Butter - 1 tbsp.

Easy to follow steps:


Peel carrots, wash them and then grate. If you have food processor you can use that as well to grate/shred carrots. Pressure cook grated carrots for one whistle and let the cooker depressurize naturally (doing this step reduces overall time to make halwa). Once the pressure is released add milk to the cooked carrots and bring it to a boil. Lower the heat and let it simmer while stirring in between to make sure it doesn't stick to the bottom. Add cardamom powder and mix well. My eyes went off for a bit and milk overflowed so don't mind my messy cooker. :)

After 15-20 mins milk will start thickening and absorbed by the carrots. Add crushed almonds or dry fruits of your choice. Then add sugar and mix well. Add 1 tbsp ghee and cook it on medium flame for 10 - 12 minutes while stirring. You will see that halwa now has a glaze and all the milk is absorbed which means it's done! Switch off the gas. Let it rest for a while.

And, our Gaajar ka Halwa is ready!

Enjoy the treat!

Hope you liked the recipe and didn't find it too difficult. Let me know if this got you high on flavors. Don't forget to subscribe for more updates. Leave a comment for any questions/thoughts. Talk to you in my next mouthwatering recipe!


173 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 Comment


Neelu Sharma
Neelu Sharma
Mar 07, 2019

awesome!!!! thanks for the receipe!!!

Like
bottom of page